June 22, 2011

After packing up our camping gear, we left our beautiful oasis of Moab. After all, it was the only time during our entire trip that we had showers. We then drove to Natural Bridges stage park.

By this time in the trip I was getting pretty sick. Before leaving Moab, I called my doctor in Michigan and told her my symptoms. She prescribed me some antibiotics. The group dropped me off at a pharmacy in Blanding, UT while the others toured the only operating uranium mine in the United States.

Later that afternoon we reached our camp in Natural Bridges. Here the amenities were no running water and a pit toilet.

We set up camp then headed out to a site where there was a petrified forest. With our rock hammers in tow we hunted petrified wood. It was everywhere and we got to have as much as we dared to bring back.

Here is the site where we looked for petrified wood.

Petrified Wood Site Near Natural Bridges

Here is Mike and Jeff climbing up to find some prime pickings.

Near Natural Bridges

Here is another photo of Mike. Sometimes I think he may be part billy goat.

Mike climbing up Mt. Petrified Wood

Here is Laura looking like the professional geologist that she is with her rock hammer and her treasure.

Laura the Geologists